GLENMORANGIE 12yo QUINTA RUBAN

The Glenmorangie Quinta Ruban is one of the many “Extra Matured” bottlings of the standard Glenmorangie 12yo available on the market. Now although I have had it many times, I do not have a review on the standard Glenmorangie, so I am not going to bore you with the history of the distillery at this time. To make the Quinta Ruban, distillers age their spirit in American White Oak Casks for a period of 10 years, before the product is then finished in Ruby Port Pipes (casks) from the Quintas (wine regions) of Portugal. Like a finishing whisky in Spanish Sherry Casks, this will add a unique deep richness to the whisky for all to enjoy. In 2008 and 2009, the International Wine and Spirits Competition (IWCS) awarded the Quinta Ruban the Gold Medal and named it “Best in Class” for Single Malt Highland Scotch Whisky.

Color: A medium bronze color with reddish highlights imparted from the ruby ports. It gives the scotch a color similar to an autumn leaf. Beautiful.

Nose: There are a lot of wonderful things happening in the nose right now. First you get hit with rich chocolate followed by sharp citrus zest and menthol cooling your sinuses. Then the port kicks in and your sinuses are warmed back up by notes of vanilla extract and blueberries, with a mild wood at the very back.

Body: Rich, heavy and chewy.

Palate: The first thing I get hit with is decadent chocolate covered caramel and sweet oranges. Then your tongue begins to come alive to oak, cinnamon and white pepper. Nothing overpowering or intimidating; it is the kind of spice you want to cuddle up to.

Finish: The spice doesn’t last very long before there is a floral sweetness and something that reminds me of whipped honey.

Well, let me start by saying that Glenmorangie was the first Single Malt I ever bought and tried; and I fell in love with it right away. This spirit right here…has me seriously thinking that Glenmorangie might be making the finest Scotch out there. Like if it was physically possible and socially acceptable, I would make love to this Scotch. This is hands down my favorite Scotch, possibly my favorite overall whiskey that I have had. This will for sure be making its way into my regular rotation at home. If there is one whiskey I insist that you try, it is this one!

Side note: If you are looking to really treat yourself; pair this with Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Caramels and Gurkha Ninja cigar.

Quinta Ruban

