Jameson 12 Year Old Special Reserve

Jameson 12 year old Special Reserve

Jameson 12 Year Old Special Reserve (formerly known as Jameson 1780) is an Irish blended whiskey that is distilled in Cork, Ireland before being sent to Dublin, Ireland where it is blended and bottled. It has been aged for 12 years in seasoned oak casks before being bottled.

Nose:  Very pleasant, light scent of pear and wood

Body: Light and fluid

Palate: Light fruit apple and pear, honey, buttery.

Finish: Very spicy, pepper explodes in the back of your mouth and lingers for quite a while

Color: Amber

Jameson is known worldwide as the quintessential Irish whiskey and often referred to as part of the holy trinity (Jameson, Baileys and Guinness). As most of you are aware by now, I am a huge geek for my Irish heritage and know how much I want to visit Ireland; however I have never found Jameson to be anything to write home about. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I don’t enjoy it, I just think it is way over hyped; and in my own opinion I have always enjoyed Bushmills White Label Irish Whiskey a lot more. Jameson 12 year is no different. For a 12 year old whiskey there is very little that sets it apart from its flagship brother. There is a nice mellowness that the whiskey has achieved from the time spent aging; however all the base notes and nose are the same. With the exception of that explosion of pepper you get at the back of your throat and then after a while dance on the tip of your tongue. Or maybe that’s just the bite of the alcohol numbing my tongue…I’m not positive; I will have to swig some water to refresh my palate. Well after a swig of water and tasting it again, the water in my mouth opened up a nice little caramel note in the flavor; and everyone knows I am a sucker for caramel. At the end of the day I will always grab Bushmills over Jameson. White Label over standard Jameson and Bushmills Black Bush over Jameson 12.

 

